Eesti Kunstimuuseum (Estonian Art Museum) was founded in 1919 and it’s goal is to collect and display Estonian art from the Medieval times until today. Eesti Kunsitmuuseum basically consists of five different museums: KUMU, Kadriorg art museum, Mikkel’s museum, Niguliste museum and Adamson-Eric’s museum which are all located in Tallinn.
KUMU is the museum of modern art and it has Estonian art from the 18th century until today. The museum was opened in 2006.
Kadriorg Art Museum has Western European and Russian art from the 16th century to the 19th century. The palace was built by the Russian tsar Peter the 1st as a gift to his wife Catherine in the 18th century.
Mikkel’s Museum features European and oriental art from Johannes Mikkel’s private collection.
Niguliste Museum has ecclesiastical art dating back to the Middle Ages. The church it is believed to have been founded in the middle of the 13th century.
Adamson-Eric’s Museum is dedicated to an Estonian artist called Adamson-Eric (1902–1968) and displays his art.